On a cool gray day, on the 28th day of October in the Common era 1997, I swore an oath before my fellow sailors, on the blood of my ancestors, and the soul of doing what was always right, and the best for the most. I swore with hand raised:

I solemnly pledge myself before these witnesses to practice faithfully all of my duties as a member of the Hospital Corps.

I hold the care of the sick and injured to be a sacred trust and will assist the medical officer with loyalty and honesty.

I will not KNOWINGLY permit harm to come to any patient.

I will not partake of nor administer any unauthorized medication.

I will hold personal matters pertaining to the private lives of patients in STRICT confidence.

I dedicate my HEART, MIND, and STRENGTH to the work before me.

I shall do ALL within MY power to show in MYSELF an example of all that is HONORABLE and GOOD through out my naval Career.


-Doc

